You’re Killing My Buzz…

I’m confused.  I dont claim to be a marketing guru, or to have expertise in product launching,but if I were a company who recently made a MAJOR play into the communications arena; and had several manufacturers phones running several different versions of MY OS; I would definitely make sure that the product being launched WORKED with my branded phones!!

Ok *whew* that was a bit of a rant, but you get the idea yes?  I’m a bit peeved.  Google launched Buzz in full knowledge that it would NOT work with at least 31% (phones running Android 1.5) of phones running Android.  That includes my Hero.  For another 47% or so (running v1.6) Buzz only works in Google Maps 4.0.  The only Android phones that can fully experience all of Buzz’s capabilities are running 2.0/2.1, which are basically only the Motorola Droid and the Nexus One.  Period.

But guess what?  The iPhone is 100% fully and spectacularly supported!  Is that a kick in the head or what?  Now in Googles defense, I’m sure it tons easier to write compatibility for the iPhone as the OS is rock solid and theres only one version of it.  Google should have waited for the release until it at least had the majority of its OS phones compatible.  True, the Buzz demographic is much larger than the current Android base, but since Android is the new marketing focal point for them, one would think they would want to cross market.

But thats just me… Ciao!

Leave a Reply

